Being successful – what does it mean?

_DSC1237I was travelling in Greece for some days. I met some interesting and inspiring blogger colleagues there. And I had time to think. About me and my work-life-balance. I admit I am quite happy with everything and how it works out. But what is actual the meaning of the phrase „having success“or „being successful“?

Well, it seems to be something we all strive for. Or at least the majority of us! I try to work hard to be a bit successful and sometimes I just push myself in doing so.

But what means success for me? The main thing I think is that I should have a plan, an ambition, a goal. And important is just to focus on it. And on myself. Not in an egoistic matter! But just to forget about those around me and about what they are achieving, what they are doing and the successes they deliver!

I do not forget that everyone out there has its own ambition, its own journey. I think comparing myself to others can be one of the most negative things to do, and can really hinder myself of achieving something what is important for me, rather than aid it. Well, it is great to check the competition, but it will not be my focus or definition of my own success.

For me it is always good to get a feedback or even critics on my performance from others. I can feel like a total failure if I am having an emotionally bad day. Lucky me it is not too often. Otherwise I can feel great when I just get a few really good opportunities along the way.

The emotions around my personal success can fluctuate in many ways. I always try to have a good life balance. I try to eat healthy (not always, hahaha!), I do sport on a regularly basis (martial arts, swimming and running). Beside that I try to get enough sleep what is not always easy, especially when I do have some new and exciting projects in mind. I just try to be surrounded by good people, measurable objectives and a very clear definition of what I really want to achieve.

I believe that we all can achieve whatever we set our mind to, with hard work, high spirits and a non stop flow of passion and enthusiasm! The irritating thing about people who we often admire as successes is that it’s not just their achievements we aspire to and respect, it’s often that they seem happy, content and like they have got a really good life.

For me it is always important to remember: Success is not just about financials, achievements or other big awards I can get. In my opinion the ultimate life success is a good balance between my career and my personal life. I like to fulfil my career ambitions as well as my personal life with friends, family, my dog and some fun along the way.

Über sl4lifestyle

Journalistin aus Leidenschaft, Tierschützerin mit Hingabe und neugierig auf das Leben. Ich stelle Fragen. Ich suche Antworten. Und ab und zu möchte ich die Welt ein Stückweit besser machen ... Manchmal gelingt es!
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Glücksbote abgelegt und mit , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

4 Antworten zu Being successful – what does it mean?

  1. Margareta Gilch schreibt:

    Life can’t be in better hands, than in yours Sabine. I admire your strength and ambition.

  2. kormoranflug schreibt:

    Whats about the success in love? In my opinion is your sight very hard. Our life can be taken by bitter fate …

Kommentar verfassen

