Back on the track

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Life seems to get faster and faster. I just woke up and it is now 2017. It was just yesterday when I started with university! How did that happen?

Time is perishable. It does run out and it really stops for no one. We are all given an equal amount – exactly 168 hours a week – so how we want to spend our time on earth is up to us.

When I reflect on my life I do feel blessed. It has been a great journey so far. Even with all the ups and downs I would not want to change anything, as every experience has added to the learnings and wisdom that have made me.

What I have realised is that to live the life you want, it doesn’t just happen. You have to make it happen, take charge, make some determined decisions, and create great habits that are sustainable and satisfying. One of the keys of my being was having to reflect honestly and openly in consultation with my family and my friends. This included looking at my attitudes, emotional reactions to more or less high pressure situations, trust of relationships around me, looking at my physical state concerning workout and sport.

It was not always easy but in difficult times I tried to be back on the track soon. After experiencing the power of this habit it has become a lifetime habit. My habit. Every half year I do a check on all areas of my life to make sure I am on a healthy track for my mind, my body and soul. This helps me prioritise how I want to spend my time.

Life was most of the time quite simple for me, physically and mentally. Once, when you get older, things become a little bit more complicated and time becomes even more precious for me. Prioritising and planning are even more important.

I like to make lists to ensure I think of important things and I get them out of my head and onto paper. Writing it all down removes stress and makes it easier for me. I can see much clearer what I need and how I want to spend my time. The best part of my To do-lists is the great satisfaction of achievement that comes with crossing things off those lists.

For me, taking time to reflect on my life and how to spend my time will be worth its weight in gold. The real success comes from taking the action that is needed to make things happen.

Do you have any habits on reflecting your life? If yes, how important are they for you?

Inspired by Giorgia van der Rohe, Robert Lebeck, Vera Lehndorff, Elizabeth Gilbert.

 

 

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Glücksbote, My Sabbatical abgelegt und mit , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

3 Antworten zu Back on the track

  1. Miss Gentileschi schreibt:

    I also take my time to reflect on my life, though I´m not sure how much time passes in between those reflections 😉 It´s a wonderful and very healthy habit, I think 🙂

  2. Fotohabitate schreibt:

    I do it every morning when I’m writing my „Morgenseiten“. For me it’s very important to check regularly my life balance and make my wishes true.

Kommentar verfassen

